Charlotte Traffic Violation Attorney
Protect Your Driving Privileges with Award-Winning Defense
Each year, over 40 million people are given a speeding ticket, and that number does not include other traffic offenses such as Driving While License Revoked or Reckless Driving. If you recently received a citation, do not feel alone. Whether it is your first ticket or one of many, each ticket can have a significant impact on your license. While Traffic Court seems simple and paying your ticket seems like an easy fix, doing so admits guilt and can have unintended consequences. Get help from the Charlotte traffic violation attorney at Smith Horton Law to avoid a ticket.
Did you receive a traffic ticket? Let Smith Horton Law help you fight it. Dial (704) 734-9797 now or contact us online to get started.
Bigger Consequences than Fines
Most people are concerned with their insurance rates increasing. However, if you accumulate too many license points, your driving privileges can be revoked. Additionally, certain charges within a specific period of time can also revoke your license. The attorneys at Smith Horton Law know how to analyze your options and keep your license from being revoked, thus keeping your insurance rates down.
In North Carolina, there are different types of penalty points you can suffer. License points are assigned by the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when you are convicted of violating a law such as reckless driving, no liability insurance, running through a red light, and speeding. Each charge has varying point values assigned to it. If you accumulate a total of 12 license points in three years, the DMV can revoke your license.
Other charges that may revoke your license include:
- Two or more speeding charges in excess of 55 mph but not more than 80 mph within a 12-month period
- Speeding in excess of 75 mph where the posted speed limit is less than 70 mph
- Speeding in excess of 80 mph where the speed limit is 70 mph
The DMV can revoke your license anywhere from 30 days to permanently depending on the criminal charge and your prior history. However, if your license is revoked, you may be eligible for a limited driving privilege.
The other type of points is assigned by your individual insurance company. North Carolina created the Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP) which authorizes your insurance company to increase your rates by a specific amount after a motor vehicle violation. So, before you listen to the citing officer who said “just pay it,” it is important to consider all the other consequences that can come with admitting guilt.
Let Smith Horton Law Help
Our team is familiar with the laws surrounding points and traffic violations. During our free consultation, we will go over what you can do to avoid a more serious problem that could stem from paying your ticket.
Dial (704) 734-9797 now to schedule your free consultation.
Communication and professionalism was superb.- Satisfied Client
Very Fair & Reasonable in Billing- Divorce Client
I’ve had the opportunity to recommend you twice since we first connected in May/June, and will continue to share your name should someone be in need of excellent representation-counsel.- Satisfied Client