Back to Top

When Does Child Support End in North Carolina?

When a divorce involves children, the final agreement typically entails that the noncustodial parent pays the custodial parent a monthly amount to support his/her children. Child support payments take care of the kids’ food, shelter, clothes, education, health insurance, and other costs.

But when does a North Carolina resident’s child support obligation end? According to state law, child support payments end when the youngest child in the family turns 18 years old.

However, if the child is still in high school, payments may extend until he/she is 20 years of age and is on the road toward graduation. Remember, you must request the court to stop garnishing your wages since it doesn’t keep track of graduation dates.

It is also possible for child support to continue past 20 years of age, especially if the child has a physical or mental disability and cannot become self-supporting.

If a child is enrolled in college, the child support payor is not obligated to continuing supporting the child. There are many states that require parents to continue paying child support until the child reaches 21 years old if he/she is enrolled at a university.

But can child support end early in North Carolina? When a minor child emancipates and becomes an adult, child support will end. Additionally, if the child or the payor passes away, child support is terminated.

If you are interested in modifying or terminating child support in Charlotte, contact Pinnacle Law today at (704) 734-9797 for more information.

Categories